Out With the Old, In With the New!


New Beginnings

A time for new beginnings

Let me put your mind at ease – this is not a post about New Year’s resolutions. But, since we are starting a new year, it brings to mind thoughts of beginnings, and of change. For me, this year starts a re-commitment to this blog.

Last year was a good year in many ways. That was the year I started this blog (okay, technically it was  the tail end of December 2011…but you get the idea), made some changes to the format, and made a real effort at providing content relevant to business owners. However, almost as quickly, I ran out of steam, and I figured out why. I need feedback. Not the “Attaboy! You’re doing a great job!” kind of feedback. This blog isn’t a way to feed my ego (and if it ever seems that I’m leaning that way, please bring it to my attention). But I do need to know that what I write is helping people in some way. Otherwise, why bother?

One way to know you guys are alive and kicking is if you subscribe to my blog. That at least tells me you saw something relevant enough to click the “Follow” button in the upper right corner. To give you some added incentive, I’m giving away Five (5) Business Plan Executive Summaries! Just so we’re clear, it’s the executive summary only. That’s basically a snapshot of the entire plan. It’s typically what you give to an investor or lending institution to pique their interest, which may lead to getting funding for your business. However, even if you have no need for additional money, an executive summary can help refine your goals and give you benchmarks for tracking the growth of your business. That’s something everyone needs. If your business isn’t growing, then it’s declining – whether you realize it or not! (For examples of other things that can help your business grow, see Shaking the Money Tree and To Market, To Market We Go!)

We’ll put the names of all new subscribers in a hat (literally!) and have an impartial party (probably my mother) pull out five names. I’ll announce the winners in a future post.

The contest period starts today, and runs to Friday, January 25, 2013 [Update: We’re extending the contest to February 22, 2013; refer your friends and prospects!]. That allows for the selection of winners over that weekend, and announcing of the winners the following week. Additionally, I can’t leave out my existing subscribers. So, if you’re already following my blog, please leave a Comment below saying “I want ‘in’ on the contest!” This way, everyone that wants to take part has a chance to win!

If you are looking for investment capital, then you’ll eventually need a full business plan. So, for those winners who want to go beyond the executive summary, give me a call and we can talk about ways to make that possible. If you’re not one of the winners, don’t worry! I still love you and can definitely help. Just give me a call (646.340.8087) or shoot me an email (kerwynhodge@LegalShield.com) and we can discuss options that are right for you.

I also encourage you to post feedback on the blog pages. Did you like something? Tell me about it, and I’ll know to give you more posts dealing with those issues. Did something get under your skin? Let me know as well (expressed respectfully, please) so I can address any slight, real or imagined, intentional or accidental. And yes, suggestions for future posts are always welcome!

Finally, share this blog with your friends, acquaintances, clients, and prospects. They’ll benefit from the contest (which may help you look like a hero), and from future content.

I found this video and thought it offers a great viewpoint on getting rid of the old by focusing on what’s new. Listen as Christina Sell lays out a simple but effective approach:

So, it’s out with the old attitude I had towards maintaining this blog, and in with a new one by focusing on a solid, consistent commitment to bringing you relevant posts. What are some things you want to change in 2013? Leave your Comments below:

21 thoughts on “Out With the Old, In With the New!

  1. Great information. I agree with you that the pats on the back don’t really get you where you need to be. I also appreciate veering from the standard resolution tactics and leaning more on the breath of fresh air/change concept. I don’t make resolutions myself but thoroughly enjoy change, I am a creature of change (that’s the Aries in me). Thank you for inviting me to participate. I will do so graciously. ~ Celeste

    • You are most welcome, Celeste. It’s a pleasure and a privilege having you as a blog follower. Plus, you are now in the running for the Executive Summary contest. Here’s a little tip: If you don’t want one developed personally, use it as a tool with a business prospect. It’s transferable one time (I know, I didn’t mention that in the post; aren’t you glad you commented?!).

  2. We are always glad to read you, Kerwyn. Whether it’s on LinkedIn or here (I just discovered your blog thanks to your personal message on LinkedIn). This being said, I want to be honest with you: Patience is not my middle name. So, I cannot promise that I will read everything you post here, because, when I have a lot of work I just browse (there is a reason why I took speed reading lessons…)
    However, I know the value of what you bring to the table and will subscribe to your blog.
    I know what you mean about running out of steam. For me it’s not only steam, it’s also time. We run 4 companies (without mentioning my coaching company) and we only have 24 hours in a day, like everyone else. That is the reason why my blog is not fed on a regular basis. If you have ideas how to do that more effectively, please feel free to share with me.
    I wish you lots of success for 2013, in addition to health, joy, happiness and prosperity.

    • I appreciate you following my blog, and the value of time. We never seem to have enough of it! I generally won’t post more than one or two times a week; that seems to be the limit for most people. As for keeping up with your blog, have you considered using guest bloggers? Send an email or give me a call. We can discuss a few options!

  3. HI Kerwyn,

    Thanks for inviting me to participate. I have appreciated what you have posted in our LinkedIn group and I look forward to checking in on your blog now.

    I will check in and provide feedback as much as time allows – and perhaps I’ll give you a call as you suggested above.

    • I would love hearing from you, Dr. Nicholas, and very much appreciate you taking a look. If you click the “Follow” button above, you’ll always know when a new post appears. I hope you find the topics informative and useful. Thanks again!

  4. Hi Kerwyn, thanks for sharing, I believe the information you have provided is needed and will be of great use. I will be reading your blog & sharing with others. Peace, Joy & God’s richest blessing to you! Im on twitter too @ElizaDukes

    • Thanks, Eliza! I appreciate you sharing the information, and hopes it proves useful to you and others. Additionally, if you “Follow” the blog, you’ll be notified of new posts and updates. You’ll also be entered into the Executive Summary giveaway, which you can use for yourself, or as a gift to a business prospect (it’s transferable one time).

      • Interesting and though provoking! i think you could perhaps broaden content to include customer/client relationship, especially as it pertains education and other service sector. I made mention of this since I am in the field of education and parents and significant others are our customers. Do not just skim on the surface, as is evident. Deal more adeptly with the broad topic ‘customer service relationship’ because it is significant lacking in most service sectors across the globe.

      • I’m getting déjà vu! This sounds like the comment you posted to “Shaking the Money Tree.” Considering that post talked about customer service/experience, and this one is geared to updating people about the blog, I’m assuming it was posted here in error. Still, all comments are welcome, and I thank you for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Big Business Problems on a Small Business Budget « Back-Office Bulletin

  6. Pingback: Success Favors Speed « Back-Office Bulletin

  7. Pingback: In Business, Everything Costs « Back-Office Bulletin

  8. Pingback: To Have More Success, Help More People « Back-Office Bulletin

  9. Pingback: When the Going Gets Tough, the Tough Get Creative! « Back-Office Bulletin

    • I’m glad that I’m at least being coherent! 🙂 Disagreement can be a positive, constructive thing. Please share the points on which you disagree. It may open my eyes to a viewpoint I haven’t considered, one which may prove useful to our readers in general. I look forward to reading your replies.

    • Thank you for the feedback. I’m glad you found it interesting and hope it proves useful to you. On an unrelated matter, you may want to refrain from repeatedly placing links in your comments. A link to your site already appears whenever you reply. Adding six or seven additional links in the comment seems “spammy,” and I’m sure that’s not your intent. I removed them from your reply for you. 🙂

  10. Pingback: In Closing, Always Take the Lead « Back-Office Bulletin

  11. Pingback: It Starts With Belief « Back-Office Bulletin

Leave a Reply

